County History

Staffordshire is located in the heart of Britain and offers a wealth of heritage to explore from natural beauty and historic architecture to a significant industrial past, leisure and cultural opportunities. With a population of approximately 849,600, the county is bordered by Cheshire, Shropshire, Derbyshire, Warwickshire and the West Midlands. The county town is Stafford with other major centres being Stoke on Trent, Lichfield, Tamworth, Newcastle under Lyme and Burton upon Trent.


Staffordshire Police, under the leadership of Chief Constable Jane Sawyers, is responsible for policing the county. Its headquarters are based at Weston Road in Stafford.

Policing in Staffordshire is locally-based with 11 Local Policing Teams (LPTs) across the county. Each LPT has units with teams of officers and police community support officers responsible for keeping local communities’ safe and addressing the issues that matter most to them.


Staffordshire has a Crown Court in Stafford presided over by His Honour Judge Michael Chambers QC.

Coroner’s Office

There is a Coroners’ Office in Stafford. HM Coroner Andrew Haigh is Staffordshire South Coroner in Stafford. HM Coroner Ian Smith is Stoke on Trent & North Staffordshire Coroner.

Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner

Matthew Ellis is the Police and Crime Commissioner for Staffordshire and is based at Staffordshire Police HQ in Stafford. Sue Arnold is Deputy Commissioner.


Graham Goodall JP is Chairman of the North Staffordshire Magistrates Bench and Christopher Woodland JP is the Chairman of the SE Staffordshire Bench.

Probation Service

The Staffordshire Probation Service is part of the West Midlands Probation Trust.

Prison Service

There are eight prisons in Staffordshire:

  • YOI Brinsford
  • HMP Dovegate
  • HMP Featherstone
  • HMP Oakwood
  • HMP Raleigh Hall
  • HMP Stafford
  • HMP Swinfen Hall
  • YOI Werrington

Parliamentary Constituencies

There are 12 Parliamentary Constituencies in the county:

  • Burton upon Trent
  • Cannock Chase
  • Lichfield
  • Newcastle Under Lyme
  • South Staffordshire
  • Stafford
  • Staffordshire Moorlands
  • Stoke-on-Trent Central
  • Stoke-on-Trent North
  • Stoke-on-Trent South
  • Stone
  • Tamworth